shanmonster: (Don't just sing it--bring it!)
For various reasons including asthma and holidays, I've not been working out regularly for over a month. Last night, I crawled back on the wagon with four hours of exercise. I started with an hour of pole dance, and that left me worried about the rest of the night. Normally, the leg section of the class goes by as easy as pie. This time, my legs were quivering and burning with lactic acid. This did not bode well. After all, when pole dance was over, I had to hustle my arse over to kung fu where the leg workout is significantly greater.

And sure enough, I was to do 160 Hindu squats in a row. By the time I reached 100, I could barely get my body low to the ground. But around 130, I decided to hell with it all. I was going to do them right, and just forget how sore I was. And so I did them. In fact, for the last ten, I decided to add a jump after each squat.

We played sticky hands for a while after that, and my legs were all but useless to me. I fell a lot more than usual, to be sure.

I'll see how my legs hold up for me tonight when I start teaching my new session of seniors' dance classes. I'm now teaching two back-to-back on Wednesday nights.

And tomorrow, I teach floorwork, then proceed directly to kung fu to die another muscley death.

This is like some sort of brutal kill or cure technique, this going from sitting on my arse for a month to two to four hours of exercise a night, isn't it?

....

On Saturday, after I did my Cambodian dance workshop, I donned elf ears, armour, and black makeup and went to another LARP event. I was waylaid by bandits twice, and got dragged by the ankle into the keep by party members. The setting for this event was a tournament hosted by a baron in honour of our heroic actions at the last event (where we rid a wood of some demonic evil or another). After I received by certificate of heroism, I entered all of the competitions: throwing accuracy, wits, entertainment, and a grand mélée. After all, who doesn't want to win fabulous prizes? I did decently enough at the throwing accuracy competition, but was disqualified when one of my feet slipped ahead of the line. D'oh! The wits competition was comprised of two pages of riddles and brain-teasers. My group (which I've dubbed Team Hot Chick) worked together on the answers. Next up was the entertainment competition wherein I learned I have transferable skills. I did a sword dance, balancing a boffer weapon on my head while I did a back bend and a roll-over. I felt like a huge dork while doing it, but managed to keep a straight face the whole time. One of my slaves, Elly, sang a song for her entry, and we tied for first place.

In the next round of the entertainment competition, we had to perform in an entirely different style than we'd already done. The winner would be decided by audience applause. Elly chose to tell a bawdy joke. I chose to sing Dark Eyes in Russian (although my version seems a bit different from this one). When it came time for Elly's applause to be measured, she received a good round of applause. When I stood for mine, I had applause and cheering.

The Baron addressed the crowd and said, "I think it is obvious who the winner is. The prize goes to Elly!"

I wasn't at all surprised. The Baron had already made it abundantly clear to me that he was a racist bastard by this point. So when it came time for me to hand in my sheet with the answers to the riddles, I crossed out my name and put in the name of our sergeant, instead. (We didn't win this one, but no matter.)

Up next was the grand mélée. I fought the Baron's guard, and although I lost, I think I did decently enough for myself. Frankly, I was surprised I had the energy in me to fight that long while wearing very heavy armour and face paint, especially considering I'd already spent the morning dancing in the Cambodian style.

I won't say what other devious things I got up to in the game lest spies are reading this entry, but suffice it to say I'm quite pleased with the way Team Hot Chick ended the night.

I think I'll be doing another event some time next month. Maybe my armour will be even closer to completion, then!

[Team Hot Chick, aka Nerd Brigade]

See that? From left to right, it's Elly, Jun, and Di'ikh Aiah. We are the Nerd Brigade Team Hot Chick. Wanna see more?

Date: 2008-01-16 05:48 pm (UTC)From: [identity profile] xypharan.livejournal.com
Hey, Is this Larp Nero?
Where does it take place?

Date: 2008-01-16 05:51 pm (UTC)From: [identity profile] shanmonster.livejournal.com
Nope. Not NERO. Underworld. It's a lot more hardcore than NERO, with plenty of evil characters and a lot more hands-on play. This past event was in Toronto, as will likely be the next few indoor events. The last outdoor event was in the Barrie area. Wanna play?

Date: 2008-01-21 12:31 am (UTC)From: [identity profile] xypharan.livejournal.com
Hey, if its in Toronto I think I'd like to check it out.
Let me know when the next event you plan on going to is.

Date: 2008-01-21 02:42 am (UTC)From: [identity profile] shanmonster.livejournal.com
I think, but am not sure, that the next event might be on February 9. Contact the guys at the link I sent. I'm still waiting to find out. The rule book for the game is on the link, too.

Date: 2008-01-16 10:22 pm (UTC)From: [identity profile] morganxpage.livejournal.com
Whoa, is that Amelia in that photo?

~Morgan

Date: 2008-01-21 01:01 am (UTC)From: [identity profile] shanmonster.livejournal.com
Sure is!

February 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 09:25 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios